I haven’t blogged in nearly a month! For one, I wasn’t sure what to say. (I’ve thought about blogging about all of the different birth controls I’ve experienced but… meh, idk. I’m not a doctor, lol) My son was sick for a solid week so that drained me! Annnnd let’s be honest I’ve been busy dreaming about vacation, camping, and all things SUMMER! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ This has been on my mind though so here I go…!


Attachment parenting. Cosleeping. Bedsharing. Breastfeeding. Babywearing.

These things all attribute to my parenting style. They’re what I do and what I know. They’re what I blog about. I am not disillusioned; however, that these are the only ways to parent.

I know amazing mothers who don’t cosleep/bedshare. I know awesome mamas pump & bottle feed, supplement with formula, or full on formula feed. I know great mommies whose babies sleep in their own cribs/rooms… etc etc etc. These things don’t define you as a woman or a mother. 

The whole “mommy wars” thing is garbage. Motherhood is not a competition. You have to do what works for you and your family. *and you shouldn’t feel guilty for it!*

Drug free, natural, vaginal delivery in a birth center. That’s what I did. That’s what I experienced. That’s not the only way either. There are a million reasons that mamas have different kinds of births. I literally don’t care what kind of birth you had as long as you feel like you knew your options and were respected. I shared this meme on my IG page recently. I didn’t come up with the quote but it is so so so true! This is huge for me as a mama & as a birth doula. I’ve heard people say that they couldn’t have a doula because they wanted epidurals (etc), but that’s not how it works. Lol! Doulas benefit everyone and I’m honored and privileged to attend ALL kinds of births. 


When I say that my son has never had a bottle – I’m not being sancti-mommy. I didn’t pump because I didn’t have to. I was blessed to be a stay at home mom. My son and I never had to be separated. He could drink straight from the tap & on demand. I didn’t leave him (ever, lol) for long periods of time. Not because I’m #1 mama – but because I didn’t want to OR have to. That wasn’t where my comfort level was or what I desired. I have mama friends who need a break right away. They need to participate in self care activities away from their babies. No shame in that. If it’s what you want/need to feel like you – then do it! I have mama friends who had to go back to work and couldn’t exclusively breastfeed because they were gone. Some were super badass and pumped religiously in order to provide breastmilk in bottle for their babies. Some made them self crazy trying to pump and ended up supplementing. Some of these badass working (and SAH) mamas knew that formula feeding their babies would be best for them. So… why is this even a thing? 

Working out of the home, from the home, or being a stay at home mom… seriously. We’re all working our tails off. It might all look differently, but that’s life. We’re not all on the same path/journey so why do we compare?! 


I guess what it all boils down to is that there isn’t a right or wrong way to be a mother. All we can do is strive to know better, do better, and lift each other up! โœŒ๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’œ 

